Food Review: @Alpro Soy Vanilla Ice Cream 

This is not a sponsored post – I bought this with my own money. Everything here is my own opinion. 

Among other health problems, I’ve recently found out that I’m lactose intolerant.  As an ice-cream lover, for me, this was a melodramatic disaster.  I did notice a few weeks ago that Alpro had released a few flavours of ice cream.  Having tried a few of their products, such at their chocolate desserts and puddings (both of which I’ll also review), and liked them, when I saw my local small Tescos stocked the ice cream, I bought the vanilla. 

Alpro Soy Vanilla Ice Cream – Deer Not Included
 

The packaging is plain and straight to the point, like most Alpro products.  They also seem to focus on a nature theme, to emphasise their products are plant-based, I’m guessing. 

Ingredients

Water, soluble gluco fibre, sugar, hulled soya beans (6.1%), vegetable fats (rapeseed, shea), fructose-glucose syrup, emulsifier (mono and diglycerides of fatty acids), vanilla extract (0.4%), stabilisers (locust bean gum, guar gum), sea salt, vanilla seeds. 

May contain traces of nuts (no peanuts).

Free from dairy and gluten.

500ml for £2.50 (Tesco Offer) 


First off, the ice cream is very soft. Not quite soft-serve but it never seems to freeze solid.  I had assumed this was because my local Tesco freezers weren’t closed properly or something, but it was the same consistency after a night in my freezer.  This isn’t a problem for me as it isn’t runny, but if you’re putting it in bowls, it does go runny a lot faster than, say, Ben and Jerry’s (which for me freezes so solid I can’t get a spoon in it until it’s been sat out for about 10 minutes). 

The ice cream itself is creamy and smooth, but it isn’t that sweet.  So those looking for a super sweet ice cream may be disappointed.  For me, the first thing that hits me is the sea salt flavour, then vanilla, but a natural vanilla, rather than the flavouring of a lot of commercial milk ice creams.  It’s not unpleasant, not at all – it just takes some getting used to after eating the usual vanilla ice cream like Walls and Mackies for so long.  

It tastes expensive in my opinion – something much more akin to what is served in Mary’s Mill Bar in Edinburgh than a McDonald’s sundae.  Alpro Ice Cream has a mix of interesting flavours that slowly develop, so should be enjoyed slowly.  It’s easy to tell a lot of time has gone into developing the flavour to avoid it being bland.  It’s like what I imagine ice cream tasted like before the invention of flavourings, etc. 

If you’re lactose intolerant or otherwise can’t or don’t eat dairy, this is a nice Soy ice cream to try this summer.  

I’ll get a hold of the other flavours and review those as well. 

Have you tried this? What did you think of it? 

What else would you like me to try? 🙂 

A 💋 

Leave a Reply

